top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureChris Weinkauff Duranso

Hygge: The Danish Way of Living Contentedly






We are all stuck at home. Some more than others. I am grateful for those who are our essential workers that continue to leave the safety of home to provide for many of our needs. But even essential workers are stuck at home once they are off work, with fewer social engagements, holiday shopping excursions or visits with family and friends. So, yes, we are all stuck at home more than we probably like. Unless you are my husband, who loves being home all the time, not commuting to work on the busy LA freeways, and generally hiding out in the house.


Me, I am tired of not doing... well, fill in the blank on that one, because there are so many things I am tired of 'not doing'. Hiking (too many people on the trails near me), hanging out with my friends, teaching in person, doing research, holiday shopping, spending time with family.... You get it. Because you are likely feeling the same way. This weekend, I was so tired of being home. I ran through the list of things I typically do when I am feeling cooped up: I cleaned, I cooked, I baked bread, I played piano, I took my dog on soooo many walks, I cleaned some more, I baked some more, I started a home improvement project. And I still felt that feeling, that need to just get out and get back to 'normal', whatever that might be. I recognize that I, like others, am lucky to be 'bored', not exhausted during this pandemic. I am lucky to have a home to be 'bored in', not worried about eviction or being homeless, or concerned about when I might have my next meal.


We are all growing weary, though, aren't we?


Weary of staying in, of being COVID careful, of worrying about getting the virus or giving it to someone else, of working or not working, of politics, of the continued civil unrest. On that last one, let me say that as a white woman, I have had my share of sexual harassment and discrimination, but I have not had to deal with racial or ethnic discrimination or prejudice, so it feels a bit weird to say that I am weary of the unrest. I get it, I think. I get that for many people, life is constantly dealing with that unrest and uncertainty. So my fatigue of dealing with the 2020 version of civil unrest is, I know, just a small window into others' experiences. Nonetheless, I am weary of dealing with people who still do not understand or believe that systemic racism is real and painful and wrong. I am weary, like many, of dealing with the pandemic, and dealing with others who do not believe we are even experiencing a pandemic.


I digress.


We are weary of staying inside, of not living our lives, and winter is setting in, meaning many people are going to be spending even more time inside. One way we can help ourselves deal with being inside more this winter is by looking at the Danish practice of 'hygge'.


Hygge is an experience, a feeling of 'coziness' and relaxation that contributes to well-being, according to research. Hygge is embracing down time or relaxing experiences. Some hygge experts suggest you can experience this phenomenon through relaxing bike rides, a nice bowl of soup or cup of java at your favorite cafe, or even watching the waves roll in at the beach.



Most often, however, hygge is referred to as an experience you have in the comfort of your own home. So, winter is a time when hygge is more commonly experienced, because winter is a time, definitely in Denmark or Norway, when more hours are logged indoors.


So, how can we experience hygge? It does not require any special gear. Just the right mindset. The mindset of positivity. The mindset that, while knowing we need to stay inside even if we don't want to, also allows us to make the most of the situation by embracing the time indoors for the good it can be. We will eventually be back to our busy lives, and might even wish for more hygge time in the future. So, while we may have the time for it, now is the time to embrace it as much as possible.


Some tips from the hygge experts:


  1. Wear comfortable clothes.

  2. Position some plants indoors so you can enjoy a little nature inside.

  3. Avoid multi-tasking.

  4. If possible, designate a corner or section of your home as the 'hygge' section. Comfort is the key element here. Floor pillow(s), or a cozy sofa or chair. A blanket. A soft light or near a nice window. A scented candle.

  5. Try to block out all of the real life stressors. Allow yourself some time to step away from all of them.

  6. Soothing music, or the sound of silence.

  7. Your favorite beverage. Hot cocoa, coffee, glass of wine, cocktail, beer, or a glass of water!

  8. Close your eyes if you want. Or read a book. Or write in your journal. Or make a phone call to a loved one or friend.

  9. Don't rush.

  10. Savor what you can.

That is it! Set aside some hygge time today. Or whenever you can. Even if it is just 10-15 minutes, you will likely feel your cortisol (stress hormones) level decreasing, and your mood will reflect a more positive moment.


Practicing hygge is an investment in your pandemic resilience, and your overall well-being. Try it for a week or two, and see what you think. The people of Denmark and Norway embrace it as a cultural identity. The citizens of both countries also report the greatest well-being, so there may be some merit to this practice. Science suggests so. Let's give it a try this winter. I am going to embrace the experience next weekend, instead of running through the list of 'things I'd rather be doing'.


Here is a video to learn more about the concept of 'hygge':




Let me know how it goes! You can always message me your thoughts and experiences!


Meanwhile....


Be well, stay safe and take care.


18 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page