top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureChris Weinkauff Duranso

Physical activity vs. exercise: They are both good and equally beneficial for stress!



Hello again, and welcome to another day in the COVID-19 pandemic.


I am a runner. And a hiker. I have always been athletic, and enjoy feeling fit and strong. As I reflect on my adult life, the times when I was the most stressed out are also the times when I was the most physically fit. When I went back to college, and decided to get a PhD in Positive Developmental Psychology, I was under a lot of pressure (single parenting, finances, academic pressures), and running really helped me manage that pressure. I would routinely head to the mountains for a trail run and work out my issues while I was out there.


After a nice mountain run, I would feel like I could take on the world! My runs didn't start that way, as a matter of fact, those first few miles were typically riddled with conversations out loud that I wanted to have with other people in my life, or myself, and a lot of crying sessions. I am sure I had a lot of strange looks on the trail! I also occasionally listened to my iPod when I felt like I needed some extra motivation, and Jason Mraz's "I won't give up" was one I would sing out loud when I thought I was on the trail alone and needed a reminder that I was worth all of this stress. :)


I don't run nearly as much as I did then, in part because my back took the brunt of all those miles and is not happy about it. But also, because we are in the middle of a pandemic, and I don't feel comfortable hitting trails with all the other people in town that are in need of some nature.


But, I do still enjoy exercise of other varieties, like brisk walking, hiking (pre-pandemic, and post-pandemic again), yoga, rowing, and other strength training I can do at home. So, I fit altered my routine to fit my life, which is an important consideration, especially in a pandemic.


Research tells us that exercise, like running or other sports, helps us manage our stress, improve our mood, our sleep, and all sorts of physical factors like cardiovascular health, body mass index, diabetes, etc. That is not new. But what IS new is that being PHYSICALLY ACTIVE is different than exercise but gives you some of the same wonderful benefits.


What is the difference between exercise and physical activity? Well, sometimes they overlap, because running or hiking or swimming are exercise but are definitely moments when you are being physically active. But, physical activity can be things like going for a walk regularly, or mixing a cake batter by hand instead of using your fancy electric mixer. Going up and down the stairs at home is physical activity, just like manicuring your lawn is, too. So, everyday activities can be physical activity organically, or can be transformed into physical activity. Park the car farther away from work or from the store. Walk places that are close to home instead of driving or taking the bus. Get off the bus or train a couple of stops early, so you can walk the rest of the way to your destination (if it is safe). All of these little things can add up to a life of regular physical activity, and they, too, can improve your mood, moderate your stress perception, increase your sense of hope and optimism, improve sleep, and contribute to your physical health much like exercise.


Some of my research looks at brisk walking as a form of physical activity, and other researchers that study longevity have also investigated walking. My research and that of longevity researchers all point to brisk walking as a very positive form of physical activity, and one that is easily introduced into your life. It isn't as hard as running or other forms of 'exercise', which means you don't have to work so hard to talk yourself into doing it! You don't need fancy equipment for it, so it doesn't have the financial constraints of so many other activities. Weather might initially seem like a constraint to you, like it's too hot, too cold, too rainy, to snowy, but research also tells us that the more time you spend outside on a regular basis, the more readily your body acclimates to those extremes in weather. I have learned to really enjoy a walk in the rain (as long as it isn't thundering or lightening). A rain jacket or a hat, or umbrella, and a nice walk in the rain can be very therapeutic! The same with snow, although I have not lived in snowy weather in quite some time, I used to love to run or walk in the snow. I found that I didn't feel so cold after a morning walk in the winter, and I had more energy throughout the day!


Routine walking can improve many aspects of your physical health, and can be monitored with the help of your medical doctor. Just know that you don't have to have an elaborate exercise routine to feel strong, healthy, and to reap the many benefits of movement. During these incredibly stressful times, finding a way to walk regularly in any way you find, can drastically improve your mental and physical well-being.


Tomorrow, I will share some of the resources I have found for other forms of physical activity that are free and accessible at home, which is so important during the pandemic!


Be safe. Stay well. Take care.

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page